The Republic of Lithuania is one of the three Baltic States (Lithuania, Latvia and Estonia) and a member of European

Union (EU) and NATO. Lithuania is also an active member country of Schengen group in EU that shares its border with other 25 member countries.

The Capital of Lithuania is Vilnius, the largest city of the republic. Because of its uniqueness, the Old Town of Vilnius has been included into the UNESCO World Heritage Register.

Located in the centre of Europe, Lithuania is situated at one of the largest crossroads of the European continent. It is divided by a straight line connecting Paris and Berlin with Moscow via Vilnius, whereas another straight line, connecting Helsinki with Athens, also crosses the centre of Lithuania.

Lithuania’s climate is maritime continental. The average annual temperature is +6,10 C, the average temperature in January being –4,90 C and in July +170 C

Vilnius, Capital of Lithuania

Vilnius is the capital of Lithuania, and its largest city, with a population of 535,091 as of 2011. It is located in the southeast of the country. It is the second biggest city of the Baltic states, after Riga.

Vilnius Gediminas Technical University (VGTU) is a state higher academic school which has the rights of legal entity and acts as a public institution. The University was established by the Parliament of the Republic of Lithuania.

It is one of the largest schools of higher education in Lithuania, which strives for leading position among Baltic countries in technical and engineering education as well as the field of scientific research. VGTU is the second ranked university in Lithuania according to the number of “study baskets” granted and the only technical university among the Baltic states in the QS World University Rankings 2012/2013.

Vilnius Gediminas Technical University pursues to foster highly qualified, creative and socially active specialists, who would be able to successfully adapt to both Lithuanian and foreign markets of education and labour.

Vilnius Gediminas Technical University encompasses the following:

Nearly 63.000 alumni over more than 50 years of the University‘s existence
13.000 students (over 2011/2012)
10 faculties
10 research institutes, 19 research laboratories, 5 research centres
930 academic staff members
100 study programmes based on three-cycle structure: undergraduate, graduate and post-graduate studies
Over 200 business partners all over Lithuania

Kaunas, City in Lithuania

Kaunas is the second-largest city in Lithuania and has historically been a leading centre of Lithuanian economic, academic, and cultural life

1. Lithuanian University of Health Sciences (Lithuanian: Lietuvos sveikatos mokslų universitetas, (LSMU)) is a medical school in Kaunas, Lithuania. The present-day Lithuanian University of Health Sciences is a consolidation of two institutions of higher education, Kaunas University of Medicineand the Lithuanian Veterinary Academy. It uses the Hospital of Lithuanian University of Health Sciences Kaunas Clinics and the Kaunas Red Cross Hospital as a teaching hospitals. Lithuanian University of Health Sciences is located in Kaunas Center, AdomasMickevičius Street.

2. Vytautas Magnus University (VMU) (Lithuanian: Vytauto Didžiojo Universitetas (VDU)) is a public university in Kaunas, Lithuania. The university was founded in 1922 during the interwar period as an alternate national university.[1] Initially it was known as the University of Lithuania, but in 1930 the university was renamed to Vytautas Magnus University, commemorating 500 years of death of Vytautas the Great, the Lithuanian ruler, well known for the nation's greatest historical expansion in the 15th century.

It is one of the leading universities of Lithuania, has now about 8,700 students, including Master and Ph.D. candidates. There are slightly fewer than 1000 employees, including approximately 70 professors.


Klaipeda is the third largest town of Lithuania. It is the northern most ice-free port in the Baltics and the only one in Lithuania. Klaipeda State seaport is the most important and the biggest Lithuanian transport hub connecting sea, land and railway routes from East to West.

Klaipeda University

Klaipeda University was founded on October 5, 1990, at the very beginning of Lithuanian independence, on the basis of several faculties which had belonged to other higher schools of Lithuania. Klaipeda University, the only state university in western region, started its academic activities on 1st January 1991. Klaipeda University has 7 faculties, 7 institutes and other structural division.

Lithuanian University of Health Sciences     Vilnius Gediminas Technical University
Vytautas Magnus University     Klaipeda University

© 2011 KCR CONSULTANTS Privacy Policy